Home > General, IPv6, Security > No IPv6 on WordPress, but there are options…

No IPv6 on WordPress, but there are options…

Today I reviewed my blog entries, hosting services, domain names, videos and slides I have created for over 8 years. Once I was complete, only one thing still needed to be tested –  the ability for WordPress to support IPv6. Well they failed and I needed a method to ‘proxy’ my site through an IPv6 to IPv4 infrastructure. The solution was CloudFlare, a provider that frontends IPv4-only websites allowing them to be accessible via IPv6.

The process was quick and easy, took a short time to set it up including making CloudFlare the hosting service for my domain DNS.

Upside: quick and easy

Downside:

        Turning the hosting of my domain names over to another vendor,

        IPv4-only code running under IPv6 is now vulnerable

        CloudFlare’s inability to support DNSSec.

Anyway, for the short term this seems the only solution.

Categories: General, IPv6, Security
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

